One of the items on my bucket list (#7), was to read a current event everyday for at least a year. Don’t ask me why that was a bucket list item, to each their own.

I would like to spice this up a smidge…

I’ve been told all my life that I’m opinionated and stubborn and I would like to think that those qualities are not always bad.

So my idea is to post a current event, state my own opinion and welcome all my readers to state theirs IN A POLITE, CIVIL MANNER!!

I am a very open-minded person and I truly believe that even though opinions differ, we can still co-exist in peace while agreeing to disagree..

SO for the first CURRENT EVENT DEBATE…

Is torture justified when used for national security?

I am personally on the fence about this one..

1/2 of me says NO. What right does any one human have over another to injure another human being for any reason. Hurting another individual in some way shape or form is bound to happen in our lives somewhere along the way. But TORTURE?

Let’s face it most often the scenarios that bring about torture are crazy, messed up family members, creepy abductors and serial killer types

OR

Some government crap about religion, money, race, war or power.

But do we really have to right to torture another human being because of differences? When did it become a thing to snatch up another persons whole being and tie them to a chair and draw blood from this person? No matter what to some extent this is and always has been a crime. No one person was born with that right over another even though this has happened since the dawn of man.

The other 1/2 of myself would like to think that there would be times when this is justified.

Maybe I’ve watched one too many movies, read one too many books, but you know that moment in the scary movie when the good guy is catching on to the serial killer/murderer guy and they have that moment of dialogue when they are alone. Somehow the bad guy escapes and it leads on to another chase, yada yada yada…

Well I know I cannot possibly be the only one that gets caught up in the movie sometmes “WHY DID YOU LET HIM GO! IF THAT WERE ME I WOULD HAVE BEAT THE SNOT RIGHT OUT OF HIM! YOU WANNA CHOP PEOPLE UP AND FEED THEM TO YOUR DOG?! ILL FEED YOU TO MY CAT! I WOULD TORTURE THAT GUY SO BAD IN REAL LIFE!”

Anyway, you can imagine the rest….But in all seriousness DO some people deserve to be tortured if they do something to such an extreme, REGARDLESS of their reasonings?

Say something as serious as stealing a government official and chopping his head off on tv for the whole world to see? DO WE RETALIATE?

Please share your views with me,

there is no right or wrong answer.

